To Jump, To Fall

Standing on the edge the sounds are almost inaudible, the hundreds of people seem miles away. All I can hear is the sound of my heart, pumping blood to every part.

The deep abyss lies before me, tempting me to fall in. Into the bone-chilling cool that hurts until you get used to it. I’m so close, so close to loosing myself into a force powerful enough to kill me.

Something in me is afraid but nearly 99% is willing to take the risk and so I do.

Following a gunshot I let myself fall in, headfirst, and there’s a loud sound that replays in my mind until I begin to move, battling the force. Not seeing. Not thinking.

I only stop when I’ve reached a wall. I made it I won the swimming championship!

~taleoftoday

Leave a Reply

